Braided Spring Hair

I know it’s only February, but I’m more than ready for spring and decided to test out a braided updo.

*My inspiration – A model at the Spring 2012 Valentino show (photos not mine)

To get a similar look:

1. I started by dividing my hair into three separate sections horizontally.

2. Then dutch braid across the first section (A dutch braid is the same as a french braid except you go under with each section instead of over). I pulled at my braid when I was finished to loosen it up and give it more volume.

3. Repeat step two on the second section of your, except this time have the braid go in the opposite direction and then continue on to the third section with that braid going the same direction as the first braid.

4. Once you have your three braids completed you’ll have to pin each one around your head and tuck the ends of each braid under. I had to play around with them a bit to get them in spots that I liked.

My finished product definitely isn’t as perfect as the Valentino model’s, but I sorta like that mine’s a little messy and uneven.

You may want to solicit a friend to help you out with this look. It was a little awkward trying to braid around the back of my head, and I had to take breaks between each braid because my arms were tired. But I definitely think this style is worth it, and I got a ton of compliments on it.

Let me know if you try it out!

x

c.

p.s. Please, excuse my ugly, grey t-shirt.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

