6 Days…Spring Cat Eyes

Image Source: Style.com

One of the biggest trends for makeup from the Spring 2012 runways was exaggerated cat eyes.

Image Source: beautyeditor.ca

I like the idea of trying this cat-eye look in a fun color. Matthew Williamson had his models wear it in a brown/orange shade, but I want to go even bolder and try a bright purple or a pastel blue. I loved this post from Refinery29 about colorblocking makeup, and I definitely think a bright cat eye paired with bright lips is another way to colorblock makeup.

Image Source: beautyeditor.ca

I’m also really excited to try this modern take on the cat eye. This is a great way to make your eyes stand out without the makeup being too heavy and causing raccoon eyes (which I often have issues with). I love that in the photo above it’s paired with a simple nude lip and just a bit of mascara. Also might be a fun look to try in a pop color.

The eyeliner I find works best for me to create a cat eye is Maybelline’s Eyestudio Gel Eyeliner available at most drug stores and isn’t very expensive. It even comes with a small brush.

I found this video on youtube by SarahVictor, which gives a pretty detailed description on how to create the perfect cat eye and also gives tips on how to take the look from day to night. It’s a pretty basic video, but it’s definitely a starting off point to elaborate into a more exaggerated cat eye.

I’m always looking for new ways to update my makeup, so I’m super excited to try these looks this Spring. Would you wear this look?

x

c.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “6 Days…Spring Cat Eyes

  1. i love this look and would definitely try it out! i might go to the makeup counter just to watch a professional do it first, though :)

    xx
    theflossylife.com

  2. intoxakaing says:

    Really good post. I like it

  3. […] also been dieing to try out a cat eye look I mentioned a week or so ago in the Spring Cat Eyes post. So here’s what I came up […]

Leave a Reply

