Killer Products – Frizz Fighters

m’s choice:

Organix Brazilian Keratin Therapy Ever Straight Flat Iron Spray

Even though it isn’t specifically a frizz fighter, it does exactly what I need. The spray includes Brazilian coconut oil and keratin proteins that seal and protect your locks. The avocado oils and cocoa butter smooth and tame those wild fly-aways without weighing down your hair. It keeps volume in my hair and doesn’t add that extra crunch or weight that gels do. I spray it on dry hair before I leave the house and it leaves my hairs smelling like coconuts all day!

c’s choice:


I have two different choices for this because I need different products when I style my hair curly/straight. When I style my hair curly, I scrunch my damp hair with Pantene Pro-V’s Curly Hair Style Mousse. I’ve tried a lot of different mousses and this one works well against frizz and helps define my curls without my hair looking like it’s wet/greasy all day or feeling hard and crunchy.

When I blow my hair out, I use Bed Head’s After Party. This product is used on dry hair and a small amount goes a long way, so even though it’s a little more expensive (usually around $20 a bottle), you’ll have it a lot longer. (I’ve frequently found this product along with other Bed Head and more expensive hair-care products in the clearance rack at Target, so that’s always a good place to look if you’re on a budget). Anyway, I stick with this product because it smells awesome and it leaves my hair feeling amazingly soft.

Frizz Fighting Tips:

Healthier hair = less frizz

So make sure to always:

  • Protect your hair from heat with a cream/spray
  • Brush your hair less and if possible, only with a wide-tooth comb in the shower or after just leaving the shower  – this tip seriously helped my curly hair days
  • Only wash hair when necessary
  • After washing use a leave-in conditioner
  • Use an attachment on your hair-dryer. For curly hair use a diffuser and for straight hair use a concentrator. This does a lot more than you’d think for protecting your hair from the damaging heat of a hair dryer.
  • Be nice to your hair. I’ve seen so many girls aggressively brushing or over styling with heat and never realizing that making the small changes above would simplify their hair-styling routines in the long run.

Any frizz fighting secrets you’d like to share? We both have wavy/curly hair naturally, so any tips are more than welcome!

x.

m and c

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Killer Products – Frizz Fighters

  1. i use loreal mythic oil and it’s tamed the frizz in my head of wire alot!

  2. i need more volume any recommendations?

    • barexbones says:

      I use Fructis Body and Root lifting spray. Its a lightweight spray and only costs about $5. I spray it on when my hair is damp. If I am letting my hair air dry I pull the top half of my hair back in a clip, and let it dry in a poof looking thing on top of my head. I like to part my hair before I pull it back to make sure my hair will fall correctly once dry. Allowing your hair to dry in a poof gives it extra volume when dry. If I am blow drying my hair, I use the spray on damp hair and flip my head upside down. After my hair is almost dry I flip my head back up and use a round brush to finish, pulling my hair straight up and back. Hope this helps!
      x.

      m

    • barexbones says:

      My favorite trick for volume is:
      Once I’ve already got my hair dry, I’ll take a large round brush and focus on the roots of my hair around the crown of my head. And taking small sections around the brush, I’ll blast it for a few seconds with hot air from my blow dryer, then immediately with cold air from the blow dryer before letting it down. The cold shot really helps seal in the volume created by the warm shot. If that’s confusing let me know, and I’ll try to explain it better.

      I also always try to have a volume infusing spray that can be used on wet or dry hair. Right now I’m using Got2Be Fat-Tastic Instant Collagen Infusion Spray.

      Hope this helps!

      x.

      c

Leave a Reply

